On Depression and Suicide

When it comes to suicide, if you or somebody you know is dealing with it, I need you to know that it does not reflect you as a person. It does not make you any less valuable and your depression does not speak the truth. I know it’s telling you that you’re worthless and not loved; understand that it is wrong. Depression is the most blinding illness I have ever experienced; it told me that there is nothing good about me and it would not let me see passed my runny nose and red cheeks from crying. Somebody told me to think of my father and those who love me when I feel like taking my life and I did try. I really did, but all that entered my mind was, “You’re a burden. They will be better off.” I know now that is the biggest lie I have ever heard in my life.

I need you to know that those suicidal thoughts are not signs of a healthy brain; there is something wrong. The brain is an organ that gets sick and suicidal thoughts is definitely a symptom of that. A sick organ means it needs help, it needs medicine, and it needs attention. This is not something to “wait out” or “pray or hope it goes away”. If you ever feel the urge to take your life, I need you to grab that depression by its balls and call somebody. Anybody. You may not know me and I may not know you, but you have to be here. I know life doesn’t seem worth it. I know it hurts. You’re in pain. You don’t want to be here. But the thing is, suicide is a permanent solution to a very, very temporary issue. I know you’ve heard that before and it doesn’t cure anything. Which is why I need you, if you haven’t already, to call a therapist or a psychiatrist. Get an appointment. Talk with them and spill everything out. Emotionally vomit on them.

“Don’t take what so many people fight for.”

 

Take care of yourself and please be kind to your body and your soul.

Leave a Reply

